Downtown Ambassador of the Year: Duan Thompson

2022 #DTJax Award Winners

Downtown Vision (DVI), Downtown Jacksonville’s non-profit Business Improvement District (BID) announced yesterday the eighth annual #DTJax Award Winners. The #DTJax Awards recognize community leaders, organizations, businesses and entrepreneurs who in 2022 worked to create a vibrant and dynamic 24-hour, pedestrian friendly Downtown. Award winners are not only excellent advocates for Downtown, but have also shown their dedication by supporting economic revitalization efforts, creating jobs, operating beloved amenities, and maintaining a clean and safe #DTJax.

Downtown Ambassador of the Year: Duan Thompson

Downtown Ambassador Duan Thompson was nominated by Ambassador Operations Manager Jason Hatley, for his all-around performance. Thompson first joined the Ambassador team through the Life Builders Program in partnership with City Rescue Mission. He quickly proved to be a dedicated member of the team, a natural relationship builder and everyone’s favorite jokester. He is the team’s “Swiss Army Knife” and is always ready to cover any deployment area and to train his coworkers on new areas of Downtown. Thompson is a proud father and grandfather and a true asset to Downtown Jacksonville.

This award honors a Downtown Ambassador who continually goes above and beyond in their work to advance the mission of the Downtown Ambassador Program, to keep Downtown a clean, safe, and hospitable environment.

Every great Downtown is the result of the hard work of a huge group of dedicated leaders, entrepreneurs, investors and supporters,” said Jake Gordon, CEO of Downtown Vision. “We created the #DTJax Awards to celebrate the people and projects who make Downtown Jacksonville a better place. We were thrilled to recognize these outstanding award winners from 2022 and to give them some well deserved recognition.”  

Winners were celebrated on November 29, 2022 at The Lark in Downtown Jacksonville. The 2022 #DTJax Awards were made possible by VyStar Credit Union, First Baptist Church of Jacksonville, the Jacksonville Transportation Authority, JEA, Steve & Betsy Crosby, Iconic Real Estate Investments and The Lark. For more information about the #DTJax Awards and past winners, visit